Winter Storm Information, @GovernorDeal

Posted on Updated on

Governor Deal just declared a state of emergency for the 14 counties included in the National Weather Service’s winter storm warning for the far northern suburbs northward, effective from 7:00 p.m. today through 7:00 p.m. Tuesday.

Those 14 counties include: Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall, Banks, Jackson, Murray, Fannin, Gilmer, Union, Towns, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin and White.  Among other weather, the storm warning is calling for snow accumulations of 1 to 3 inches.

The National Weather Service’s winter weather advisory for north Georgia now extends through Thursday.  A Winter Weather Advisory is issued for a winter weather event in which there is more than one of the following: snow, sleet, and ice (freezing rain), and one of the advisory criteria is met but does not exceed warning criteria.  In addition, a winter weather advisory will be issued for an all-snow event if the advisory criteria is met but does not exceed the warning criteria.  The advisory criteria is 3 inches of snow and/or sleet expected in a 12 hour period, or a trace of ice accumulation.  An advisory may still be warranted if lesser accumulations will significantly impact mass transit and/or utilities.   The National Weather Service has also issued a Winter Storm Watch for portions of North Georgia including the Atlanta area. This Watch may be upgraded soon to more hazardous conditions, so stay tuned to local radio stations for weather and travel information.

Please watch your email and WSB television for further updates.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s